Breakfast and Dessert – basically the same thing

DSC_1673 copy

You know what’s weird?

That oatmeal and rice pudding have essentially the same ingredients and preparation/cooking instructions but one is a very distinctly a breakfast and one is very much a dessert. What is it with oats and rice? Why is rice a dessert and oats are a breakfast? Well I say to hell with that.

DSC_1637

Rice pudding for breakfast anyone? If we put fruit on it… its basically a balanced meal. duh.

I’m down with this train of thought.

Next thing: Why has the world been keeping home-made compote from me for the past 20-odd years. Who’s wise idea was that?

I didn’t think it was that easy to make I guess. And man, it is better than jam and contains less sugar… so why would you ever make jam?! WHY!? Why would you try (and probably fail) to can/jar things in boiling water  when you could really, honestly, just eat compote from the saucepan…? Riddle me that!

So – I made rice pudding. And then I made compote. And then I layered them like a fancy person and put lemon on top like an even FANCIER person and then my tastebuds exploded.

If I can have fancy tastebud explosions… so can you!

Lets get into it!

DSC_1682

Rice Pudding

1/2c. Arborio rice

1 c. coconut milk

1 c. oat milk

1/4 c. raw sugar

1 tsp. lemon zest

1 vanilla bean (scraped)

1/2 tsp. cinnamon

Blueberry Compote

1 c. bluberries

1/8 c. sugar

1 tbsp. lemon

1 tsp. lemon zest

1 tsp. arrowroot powder

For the rice puddin’

Pour the coconut milk, oat milk, rice, sugar, and zest into a saucepan and bring to a boil over med/high heat. Once the mixture is boiling, lower the temperature and allow it to simmer while covered for about 30 minutes. I usually eyeball this because it always depends. I taste it and take it off the heat when the rice is cooked and there is only a bit of liquid left. It will firm up quite a bit as it cools. Now, mix in the cinnamon and vanilla bean scrapings.

Serve hot or cold with blueberry compote.

For the Blueberry compote

Toss everything in a small saucepan and simmer on a medium heat until sugar has dissolved and you crush up some of those berries. It doesn’t take long… 3-5 minutes.

Eat direct from saucepan. Or layer with rice pudding like a fancy person.

DSC_1705

xxx

 

17 Comments

Filed under Breakfast, Desserts, Puddings

17 responses to “Breakfast and Dessert – basically the same thing

  1. elizabeth

    is there another option for the arrow root powder?

  2. joanne

    mmmmmmm if this doesn’t sound yummy, i don’t know what does!!! and heck yeah, let’s eat it for breakfast!!!

  3. Sounds and looks yummy! I am going to have to try this!

  4. Over here from Truth and Cake’s Freshly Pressed. And boy does this sound yum!! Will definitely have to make it – think I’ll go for the fancy person’s version! Beautiful pictures too.

  5. Mmm-mm! This looks so amazing! I love the way you layered it in the glass.

  6. Yum, yum, yum. Pinned these. I see these in my future 🙂

  7. Love how the rice pudding looks! It´s so colorful and bright and summery

  8. Pingback: rice pudding with blueberry compote click here for recipe | Oh So Yummy

  9. will you please make this for me. please. like a million pleases

Leave a comment